Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for A Fantastic Woman ( 2017 )

A Fantastic Woman Film Review By Logan Coleman; I am giving this film 9 and ? stars out of 10. (IMDB: 7)

On: 4/20/2018 12:00:00 AM By: wescarpenter-48666
A Fantastic Woman follows the journey of a woman named Marina. Basically this is little bit of spoiler her short time lover dies and has to deal with his family and the culture where she lives in which is in Chile. One of the major issues is how the cops mistreat her because she is a transgender woman. The films score is excellent. There is one scene is the film that last around three minutes that is strictly strobe light which could cause people to have seizures. I can see why this film won the Oscar for Best Foreign film. I am going against most other film critics; I am giving this film 9 and ? stars out of 10.

Vega stands out (IMDB: 7)

On: 3/29/2018 12:00:00 AM By: proud_luddite
Marina Vidal (Daniela Vega) is a transgender woman and aspiring singer in her twenties and living in Santiago, Chile. After the death of her lover, a man in his fifties with an ex-wife and an adult son, Marina is left alone in dealing with her grief and the aftermath of the death.

In addition to the burden of grief, Marina must also deal with humiliating and prejudicial situations around her transgender status. She subtly shows an attitude of "I hate having to go through this again but I can." Interestingly, her transgender status is used to her advantage in a later scene in the film.

Vega is in nearly every scene of the film and must carry it on her shoulders. She does the job superbly. She ably conveys awkwardness and vulnerability as her character attempts to maintain what is rightfully hers while being aware that many battles may not be won.

Much of the film follows Marina as she journeys through the city's urban atmosphere to numb her pain. The last quarter of the film takes a different twist that is less interesting than what precedes it. But "A Fantastic Woman" is a good film overall mainly due to the subtle skills of its lead performer.

Oscar as Best Foreign Film richly deserved (IMDB: 9)

On: 3/17/2018 12:00:00 AM By: Red-125
Una Mujer Fantástica (2017) is a Chilean movie that was co-written and directed by Sebastián Lelio.

Daniela Vega--herself a transgender woman--plays Marina, a transgender woman living with a man she loves. When he dies unexpectedly, her world explodes.

She is hated by his family, and is suspected by the police of having caused his death. Much of their scorn and suspicion arises from the fact that she is transgendered. If she were cisgendered, things might have been very different. Now she is alone with no house, no car, and almost no income.

The plot is based on how Marina copes with this crisis in her life. Lelio is a brilliant director, and Vega is a brilliant actress. That combination results in a brilliant movie.

The film is definitely worth seeking out. Because of the Academy Award win, it's still be playing in theaters in March, 2018, when I'm submitting this review. If it's gone from theaters by the time you read this, watch it on the small screen. I highly recommend it!

Strong plea for tolerance and understanding (IMDB: 7)

On: 3/12/2018 12:00:00 AM By: Ruben Mooijman
I had expected 'The Square' to win the foreign language Oscar, and I had hoped 'On Body and Soul' would take home the award. I was wrong. Instead of the urgency of the former or the poetry of the latter, the jury chose the delicacy of 'Una Mujer Fantástica'.

Probably, the choice has been as much inspired by the subject of the film as by the cinematographic quality of it. 'Una Mujer Fantástica' is a plea for mutual understanding, tolerance and kindness. And at the same time a condemnation of bigotry, prejudice and brutality. It can't be seen without having to think about the wave of intolerance against all kinds of minorities currently sweeping western societies.

The fantastic woman who has given the film its title, is Marina Vidal, a woman in her twenties who is dating a businessman about twice her age. In spite of the age difference, they seem to be happy with each other. But it's not so much the age difference that is remarkable. Marina is a woman who has been a man before.

In the first part of the film, this is not an issue at all. It's only after her lover suddenly dies, that Marina's gender becomes something peculiar. The medical staff, the police and, above all, her lover's relatives treat her with utmost distrust and suspicion. They won't even let her grieve, or attend the funeral.

The film shows how Marina suffers from the way she is treated, and how she refuses to give in. She remains her proud self, and in the end gets what she wants: a decent goodbye to her deceased lover. The film doesn't fall into the trap of making the whole thing too sentimental. The director registers the events, with a certain amount of compassion, but without making a tearjerker of it.

This is not a groundbreaking movie. But 'Una Mujer Fantástica' is without any doubt a well-written, well-directed and well-acted drama, with an underlying message that's hard not to agree with.

A Fantastic Flop.. (IMDB: 1)

On: 3/10/2018 12:00:00 AM By: adonis98-743-186503
Marina, a transgender woman who works as a waitress and moonlights as a nightclub singer, is bowled over by the death of her older boyfriend. A Fantastic Woman was made for critics and of course critics will name it the next big "Masterpiece" when it isn't. The film's narrative is clunky, the romantic element is weird and the perfomances not that good. Overall another terrible movie that was made for awards seasons and praise from critics and not casual movie viewers. (0/10)

Makes my heart hurt (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/18/2018 12:00:00 AM By: kushina3
This is such a powerful movie.

From the first few minutes, you are completely one with the character, you can feel her pain and her strength, and you cannot stay indifferent to what is happening.

I would recommend it to anyone, even to those that are not very trans-comfortable, because the movie is very honest and true, very human, and a chance to change everything they think they feel and know.

The technical side of the movie is phenomenal, the acting also, so I don't have anything else to add.

Capsule Review: A Fantastic Woman (IMDB: 3)

On: 2/11/2018 12:00:00 AM By: Tejas Nair
Director Sebastián Lelio gives too much attention to how his film is shot which is why A Fantastic Woman is a sight for sore eyes but an altogether boring film. A young lady finds her life turned upside down after her beau, a guy much older than her, suddenly passes away. The film takes one through her journey as she mourns his death and simultaneously tries to prevent herself from slipping into insanity. It deals with issues of feelings of loss, transsexuality, and desolation. While all that are clear except for the sexuality angle, A Fantastic Woman moves with a slow pace and indulges in itself for quite some time, giving bulbs of ennui to its restless audience. Despite that, the presentation of how the LGBT section is considered by the other groups earns some brownie points. It cannot, however, be the sole reason for me to appreciate the film. The commonplace story has shades of freshness, thanks to the Chilean setup, but the central character seems to be taking the directions from Lelio a bit too seriously. Daniela Vega puts up a wooden face through the 100 minutes of running time, making the film all the more uninteresting. The film does enough to present the tragedy of its characters, but the slow pace wreaks havoc to the whole experience. As mentioned before, it has some great photography throughout, which saved me from dozing off, but this is not an art show. Sometime in the second act, I even though there was a thrilling criminal arc in the film, courtesy the sauna parlor, but I was disappointed. With an ambient score that complements the screenplay, A Fantastic Woman can be best described as a film that has power but is just boring. TN.

A fantastic woman, a fantastic film (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/5/2018 12:00:00 AM By: sinnerofcinema
Somber, bleak and unrelenting, "A Fantastic Woman" is a very moving portrait of Marina, a transgender woman, who must deal with all the hatred and intolerance from society when her lover dies suddenly. This film depicts a reality which cannot be ignored. It delivers punches to the gut opening our eyes to the urgency of not special, but equal rights. Marina demands she be treated with decency and respect as a human. She seeks no special rights or anything else than what she believes is owed to her as a grieving woman who just lost her loved one. The films is urgent and poses many questions to the viewer to ponder. You can't help to think about the actions you would take facing the grim choices Marina has to deal with. She is constantly stripped from her dignity in the midst of grieving. But her sense of hope is palpable. She will not let anyone get in the way of her having that last moment she needs to say goodbye. This film really keeps you choked up for many reasons simultaneously until the very end when you feel somewhat a sense of vindication for Marina. An outstanding piece of cinematic art worthy of the praise and accolades it has received. Here rooting for "A Fantastic Woman" to capture that Best Foreign Language Oscar, and hoping this film will bring attention to the bleak reality many transgender people must deal with.

A Fantastic Woman (2017) (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/4/2018 12:00:00 AM By: rockman182
I don't always check out Academy Award nominated foreign films unless they really grab my attention (nothing personal, just time constraints with what I watch). A Fantastic Woman recently opened in the city and I decided to check it out. Didn't know a whole lot going in but I was excited nonetheless. After viewing the film I'll say while its not perfect and seems to get lost at stages as it goes along its still an effort that speaks towards today's issues and a film with a fine central performance from a newcomer.

The film is about a transgender woman who recently experiences the loss of her lover after he experiences his seizure. She is not able to grieve and attend the funeral properly because his family are embarrassed by her (because she's transgender) and even resort to verbally and physically attacking her. The film also shows how difficult her life is as she tries to find peace and solace in the death of her lover. The film was submitted from Chile.

Daniela Vega is very impressive for a newcomer. Her performance is powerful. She has to stand up against oppression and is unnerved as she does it. She's quite a great and complex character and has to carry the film. A Fantastic Woman is a thin work otherwise. Its interesting because it touches on discrimination against LGBTQ, which is still a problem in the world today. I do feel like the film builds very slowly throughout and doesn't quite achieve its potential.

The film is actually fairly safe compared to other films that deal with discrimination and hate. Other's might feel more positive about the film than I do. Daniela Vega has a future and will likely be in other foreign (or even local) work. I do have a mind to check out some of the other foreign nominees this year but I might just in the end check out the winner instead. Who knows, could be this one.

6.5/10

Grim but Important Chilean Drama (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/3/2018 12:00:00 AM By: bastille-852-731547
"A Fantastic Woman" is Chile's submission to the Academy Awards for the category of Best Foreign Film. The film tells the story of a transgender woman, Marina, who is suddenly cast into a state of mourning after her older boyfriend Orlando died suddenly and unexpectedly. She must confront and come to terms with Orlando's immediate and extended family members as well, who are just as shocked by the tragic loss as she is but generally unaccepting of her gender identity.

Sebastian Lelio delivers a well-directed film that makes good usage of simple but exquisite technical and editing tactics. The acting in the film is quite strong throughout, and the script is also well-written. Daniela Varga's lead performance is excellent, as she portrays Marina with a genuine sense of melancholy. She is able to enable the audience to feel a deep-seated, full-throated sense of empathy as well--one which we can only wish the characters she interacts with during the film's duration could have towards her in return. The tone on display in the film is somber and very bleak, but distinctly and genuinely rooted in reality. Such tone is supported--and exacerbated (in a good way)--by the simple score and aesthetic qualities we see. The chronology of the film's narrative is rather bizarre, as is the juxtaposition of some scenes and brief interludes. Otherwise, this is a generally well-made film. 7/10

Heartbreaking, beautiful (IMDB: 7)

On: 1/22/2018 12:00:00 AM By: traversisamantha
The LGBT themes of this movie are a backstory to Marina's real, profound grief over the death of her lover, Orlando; as his ex wife, son, and brother strip her of Orlando's possessions of value. This film is so deeply tragic and relate-able to anyone who has lost a loved one.

the greatest favorite of best foreign film in oscar and the golden globe (IMDB: 8)

On: 1/6/2018 12:00:00 AM By: Miguel Neto
Una Mujer Fantástica is the great representative of Chile in the Golden Globe and possibly not Oscar that happened in March, is a great film that has a very good premise and that speaks a lot of prejudice too, the cast is competent, but the highlight is for the impeccable performance by Daniela Vega who is great as a protagonist, she can transmit in an excellent way the feeling of the character, the direction is very good, soundtrack combines with the atmosphere of the film, has some slow and tiring moments, and lacked development of other characters , but it is a very good film and will probably take the Golden Globe. Note 8.3

MAMI Film Fest Review. A Fantastic Woman. (IMDB: 10)

On: 10/19/2017 12:00:00 AM By: namashi_1
A Fantastic Woman (Spanish: Una mujer fantástica), is a Tour-De-Force in all senses. Firstly, Daniela Vega (a proud trans woman herself) delivers the most moving performance of the year. Secondly, Writer-Director Sebastián Lelio makes a harrowing, arresting film about the difference between being 'human' & 'inhuman'. This Chilean Drama is a pure spell-binder!

'A Fantastic Woman' Synopsis: Marina (Daniela Vega), a waitress who moonlights as a nightclub singer, faces discrimination & humiliation by the family of her boyfriend, after he unexpectedly dies.

The Trans Community is a big part of our Community & they deserve equal respect & opportunity in our society. SADLY, however, not everyone in this World has the sensitivity or the heart to accept one has they are or who they choose to be. And 'A Fantastic Woman' is a tale of this harrowing & despicable act of others inflicted on a Trans Woman, who faces discrimination & is called the most deplorable things, just for being who she is. Its NOT an easy watch, because its literally what it is & how this needs to stop, no matter who you are.

Sebastián Lelio is a talented & brave man, who's intelligent enough to deliver a thought- provoking film, but never forgets to also make it a compelling drama. While we all know where the film is headed, its always engaging to see Marina battle her life with such courage. She isn't a weak woman, she's a brave soul, who faces the discrimination & never forgets her rights as a human being. Lelio & Gonzalo Maza's Screenplay is brilliant, no two options on that! Engrossing, Disturbing & Challenging, the Writing is top-notch at all times & delvers a strong, strong impact! Lelio's Direction is superb. He's handled this dramatic film with force. Benjamín Echazarreta's Cinematography is perfect. Soledad Salfate's Editing is crisp. Art & Costume Design are good.

Performance-Wise: Daniela Vega is truly remarkable as Marina. And I really hope she creates history by winning many accolades around the world for her stupendous performance her, opening a gate for the Trans community in film & beyond. Vega is affecting & courageous all through. There isn't a single false note in her portrayal. Undoubtedly, among the best performances of the year! Of the supporting cast, Francisco Reyes Morandé is wonderful in a cameo & Aline Küppenheim is first-rate.

On the whole, 'A Fantastic Woman' is indeed, FANTASTIC. Don't Miss It For The World.

Poor story, tedious but nice photography (IMDB: 3)

On: 4/27/2017 12:00:00 AM By: Karla Diaz
I watched this film yesterday, with high expectations because of the trailer and I came out very disappointed. The story is too simple and lineal, I couldn't empathize with the main character never, despite the very long scenes showing the expressionless face of the main character. It was a very tedious movie to watch. I think that the lack of a good and interesting script was to blame for the lack of things to film and direct. The story was only about the poor transsexual woman who nobody wants. I thought it was going to be something different and that the topic of the trans sexuality was going to be anything else than the victimization. Of course I get that she or he was fantastic because she / he moved on with her/his life. His/her performance was pretty stiff also. The only good thing I can recognize is the beautiful photography and art direction.

A great movie, a great director, and great performances. (IMDB: 8)

On: 4/6/2017 12:00:00 AM By: Claudio Rodr?-guez
It's hard to even talk about LGBT matters in a country like Chile, so is exactly right there the significance of Sebastian Lelio's work. The characterizations are so well performed by the actors and actresses, that you can feel the anger and frustration of Marina, the love that Orlando feels for her, the everyday struggle of Marina in a society that rejects her sexuality, the hate from Orlando's family, etc.

Is necessary a movie like this, is necessary a more open-mind society, is necessary to stop discrimination, is necessary to stop the hate.

A fantastic woman, is ready to show the audience that there is no differences between a transgender person and a heterosexual one, the strong main character of Marina, will make you feel her never-ending fight to gain some respect, and how bad we, as society, make her feel.

Thanks to Sebastian Lelio for bring this taboo to the light. Excellent work.