Get Newest Movies in HD Quality

Reviews for Game Night ( 2018 )

it was funny (IMDB: 8)

On: 4/12/2018 12:00:00 AM By: missy-24952
My mom said it was really funny but i didn't see it

Genuinely funny throughout (IMDB: 9)

On: 4/1/2018 12:00:00 AM By: yellowledbetter-72423
Didn't go in expecting but laughed the entire way through, and had some actual surprises that caught me ohh guard

Great comedy or date night movie (IMDB: 9)

On: 3/27/2018 12:00:00 AM By: tigerftball34
This was a good move with lots of funny scenes and never got boring

Avoid at all costs (IMDB: 3)

On: 3/7/2018 12:00:00 AM By: dwolf77
This movie is unfunny, unoriginal, unintriguing, and boring. The idea is certainly a good one, and I could have seen it being carried out well, but unfortunately the idea was given to a man who had never directed a movie before, and it shows. The direction is simply boring, only consisting of shot-reverse shot and adding nothing special to keep your interest. The script is absolutely terrible. I laughed two times throughout this entire film, and the second time I laughed was because of my embarassment at the film's attemt for humor. The acting is fine, but the actors are simply given nothing to do. This film fails both at being an action movie and a comedy and I urge you to avoid it, unless you want to spend 2 hours of your life boring yourself.

Fun, at times genuinely funny, and always entertaining. (IMDB: 7)

On: 3/4/2018 12:00:00 AM By: Pjtaylor-96-138044
A few latter twists and turns don't quite feel genuine and the film starts to confuse itself with reveals that amount to nothing other than some slight plot-holes and leaps in logic, but 'Game Night (2018)' keeps up a fast pace and is always fun even when it isn't always funny - though it is just that on multiple occasions. It manages to be extremely entertaining and is actually surprisingly well directed, with some fancy camera-work and oddly visceral fight scenes superbly solidifying its thriller elements, while it never takes its eye off its comedy roots and therefore manages to keep a smile on your face even during some of its more obvious or on-the-nose moments. Fantastically fun stuff from start to finish. 7/10

Frustrating, Sleazy & Unfunny (IMDB: 4)

On: 3/4/2018 12:00:00 AM By: fateema-64564
This movie was meant to be a comedy however I don't know when and how did boring & ridiculously stupid characters make up for a solid humor.

Every single character here was either stupid, unrealistic or just plain boring. None of them can be relatable, for something to be funny it has to be relatable and I cannot for the life of me believe that anyone over the age of 14 is going to find any of these "adults" relatable. In fact the punch lines are so bad, the creepy neighbor was legitimately creepy. Every other scene was cringe worthy.

This movie made me "cringe" more and laugh less. It also made my blood boil at times, thanks to how stupid and sleazy the characters and the plot were.

Skip this...

Flat Out Not Funny (IMDB: 4)

On: 3/2/2018 12:00:00 AM By: Movie Paradise
Comedy is a hard genre to get right on screen. It is one of the most subjective kinds of films there is, and even comedies that are generally defined as being great can still fall flat for some people. That is simply the nature of the art of comedy. Unfortunately, this results in us, the consumers, not getting very many good comedies. Instead, there is an overabundance of brutally sh*tty comedies that make you dig your face into the palm of your hand and question why you wasted $10 and two hours of your time to watch this garbage. This was exactly my experience with Game Night, the new film from Vacation directors John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein. I doubt many people were counting down the days until they could go see Game Night, nor could anyone be blamed for thinking it looked like a steaming pile of sh*t. The trailers never came across as if the film could actually be anything worthwhile. But then, the unimaginable happened. Reviews began dropping for the movie, and it suddenly was certified fresh on Rotten Tomatoes with an 81% critics rating. I had never intended on seeing Game Night, but after seeing the surprisingly strong reviews it was getting, I decided to go check it out. However, I have come to regret that decision. Game Night is everything I had originally thought it was going to be, from having terrible humor to cringe-worthy performances...

Mostly silly, easy comedy that wasn't funny. Just a bad movie (IMDB: 1)

On: 2/27/2018 12:00:00 AM By: mjk121882
I would give it less than 1 star if I could. I have no idea how people are giving this junk positive reviews. I only made it half way through the movie because people were arguing about talking in the theater and that was literally more entertaining. The same joke was pitched over and over. I had to leave before I heard another joke about being an insecure brother, or about a wife sleeping with a celebrity before they were married. It was almost as if the actors weren't even trying in some spots, I can't remember laughing at even one of the lame jokes. Jason Bateman is playing the same role he's done the last 5-6 times, and Rachel McAdams is not in the least bit funny. The script sucked and the actors for the most part sucked.

Abysmal (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/26/2018 12:00:00 AM By: Robert Fliegel
Surely one of the worst flicks I have ever seen. I walked out of the theatre after about 20 minutes of boredom mixed with agony. Amateurish dialogue and acting. Gratuitous obscenities that are presumably supposed to sound authentic or earthy or god knows what, but instead seem self-consciously inserted with incongruous effect. I have noticed this with increasing frequency, the "f" word sprinkled liberally throughout the script if only to demonstrate that the code allows it. I was in the Navy for 20 years and don't remember sailors talking like this. In fact, I don't remember ever being around anyone who talked like this. Ludicrous.

An amusing adults-only comedy, but no game changer. (IMDB: 6)

On: 2/26/2018 12:00:00 AM By: Troy_Campbell
Another adults-only comedy from the makers of Horrible Bosses, Game Night is the latest in a long line of films operating within the ordinary-people-become-embroiled-in-crime subgenre. Putting a murder-mystery game-within-a-game spin on proceedings, it's essentially David Fincher's The Game with crude humour, which is exactly as good or bad as that sounds, depending on your tastes. Writer Mark Perez and directors John Francis Daly and Jonathan Goldstein certainly don't hold back in their attempt to garner laughs. They throw everything from impersonations and horror parody to visual jokes and gross-out humour into the mix. It's hit and miss at best, but when it's funny it's really funny; a gag-inducing bullet extraction and a hilariously slow negotiation involving a dim-witted philanderer trying, and failing, to play hardball are a couple of memorable sequences almost worth the price of admission on their own. Unfortunately there are also plenty of clangers littered throughout-plus a completely misjudged subplot that tries to inject a message about growing up-that create sizeable laugh-free portions of the movie, especially in the final act. As the married couple who host the titular weekly event, Jason Bateman and Rachel McAdams are a hoot when playing off each other. His straight-faced quips and her bubbly/snarky barbs are an ideal match, so hopefully they share the screen again soon. As far from being a game changer as it is from being a complete dud, Game Night is an amusing diversion that'll be most enjoyed with an alcoholic beverage or two.

So much fun (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/24/2018 12:00:00 AM By: banedjokic2
This movie made my day, didn't,t laugh this hard in years and yet technical aspect of this movie is astonishing

Funny, but trailer has a lot of the funny moments (IMDB: 6)

On: 2/24/2018 12:00:00 AM By: nsleischow
Game Night has a good plot, which can be rare for a true comedy movie and the acting is quality, especially from Jason Bateman and Jesse Plemons. However, it is another example of one where the funniest parts were shown in the trailer.

Had a great time! (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/23/2018 12:00:00 AM By: jwwalrath-227-85487
This film is much funnier than the trailers and commercials make it look. In fact, I can't remember the last time I've laughed so much repeatedly.

Lots of clever lines. Good casting all around. (Jesse Plemons is even more creepily funny than he is in the the trailers, and I'm asking myself the same question I asked when I saw Peter Jackson's King Kong: Why isn't Kyle Chandler in more movies?) Also, the direction was surprisingly well-thought out for a comedy. A lot of effort clearly went into lighting, camera work, and certain set designs.

Bear in mind, I wouldn't suggest this film if you're squeamish. The film mines its humor from the characters contrasting with some dark situations. The scene with Bateman's injured arm in the trailer is more hardcore than is let on.

If you watch this, be sure to stay through the beginning of the credits. It's one of the funniest bits of the movie.

Jason Bateman Shines (IMDB: 8)

On: 2/23/2018 12:00:00 AM By: WubsTheBadger
This hilarious gonzo comedy has a sharp script, clever direction, and an excellent cast. In Game Night, writer Mark Perez and directors John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein have crafted a tightly structured story with little visual tricks that turn out to be significant. That said, the movie really lives and dies by its cast, and this is a top-notch ensemble. Morris -- dependably funny on TV's New Girl -- gets laughs from his bubbling jealousy and dead-on Denzel Washington impersonation, clicking well with Bunbury. Horgan drily delivers as someone who's far too smart for her date; you'll likely wish there was more of her in the film. Magnussen is spectacularly idiotic as Ryan, which is a gift. Open-hearted blockheads are always welcome in comedies such as this, and Magnussen -- who's shown his dramatic chops in the likes of Birth of the Dragon -- hits it out of the park. Plemons' dead-eyed Gary generates big laughs by doing as little as possible. His stony "I see you" face and monotone delivery steal every scene he's in. (At one point, he happily invites the group into his house ... and, with a frozen smile, slowly backs into the darkness.)

And as Max and Annie, Bateman and McAdams have great chemistry. Their timing together, their small reactions to each other; they really read as a couple who love each other, have a lot in common, and accept each other's quirks. Oh, and they're really funny. Bateman, as usual, is an effective straight man with subdued wit. McAdams gets to be a little wackier than usual and has some superb reaction moments. They're an appealing pair, and we're happy to follow them through this gleefully bloody comedy with a fair amount of twists and genuine laughs.

Funny, funny movie. Rachel McAdams is GREAT! (IMDB: 8)

On: 2/23/2018 12:00:00 AM By: TheTruthDoor
I went to an advance screening of this movie and loved it. I go to the movies every week and it's rare to find a comedy that is actually funny throughout the entire film. Most of them seem to show all of the funny parts in the trailer.

Game Night is the exception. It is filled with nonstop laughs. The entire theater laughed throughout the movie. The actors are excellent, especially the always funny Jason Bateman. Rachel McAdams is hilarious. Great chemistry with all of the actors. Great plot.

If you are looking for a funny movie see Game Night.

Hilarious (IMDB: 10)

On: 2/22/2018 12:00:00 AM By: christyreznor02
I went to an advance screening of this movie and loved it. I go to the movies every week and it's rare to find a comedy that is actually funny throughout the entire film. Most of them seem to show all of the funny parts in the trailer.

Game Night is the exception. It is filled with nonstop laughs. The entire theater laughed throughout the movie. The actors are excellent, especially the always funny Jason Bateman. Rachel McAdams is hilarious. Great chemistry with all of the actors. Great plot.

If you are looking for a funny movie see Game Night.

Not A Comedy Not A Drama, But An Interesting Hybrid (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/22/2018 12:00:00 AM By: garethvk
Max (jason Bateman), and his wife Annie (Rachel McAdams), are a lovingcouple who met during a trivia night at a bar. Gaming has been a regularpart of their lives, and they are often involved with hosting game nightsfor their friends. Max and Annie seems have it all save for a family andwhen it is determined that stress may be leading to the problem Maxattempts to resolve the issue. Max has issues with his older brotherBrooks (Kyle Chandler), who he sees as ultra-successful and rubbing hissuccess in his face. The fact that Max has not seen his brother in a whileis not an issue, the fact that the brother who seems to beet him ineverything has returned is enough to set the mild-mannered Max on edge.After an enjoyable game night, Brooks offers to host the next one andalthough Max knows this is just Brooks looking for a way to show off hishouse, he accepts the invitation.

Upon arrival, Brooks tells Max, Annie, and their friends that they will beplaying a mystery night where a group of actors will stage a kidnappingand they must unravel clues to solve the mystery. The fact that Brooks isoffering a prized car that Max has long coveted is all the motivation heneeds to winn the competition.

The game starts and a group of goons arrive and rough up Brooks and kidnaphim in front of the guests who all think this is part of the show. Theysoon come to reallize that Brooks may not be the person he claims to bendthat the kidnapping may indeed be real and not part of a scripted game.

What follows is a mix of comedy and dramatic mystery that while unfoldingslowly at times,is filled with some funny moments and great characters.Bateman has his likable everyman persona down well in the film and thesupporting cast does a great job playing in the wacky adventure withoutevery getting to madcap. The breakout star of the film is Jesse Plemonswho plays Max and Annie's creepy police neighbor who is deeply disturbedfollowing the breakup of his marriage and has taken things to a new level.You will want to stay through the credits as there are some extra sceneswhich round out the film nicely. "Game Night", is a pleasant enough filmthat cannot quite determine if it is a comedy or dramaedy, but it doesenough good things to make it an enjoyable outing.

3.5 stars out of 5.

Mainstream comedy done right (IMDB: 8)

On: 2/22/2018 12:00:00 AM By: eddie_baggins
While unlikely to ever be regarded as a classic side-splittingly hilarious comedy kingpin, Game Night is a refreshing and original mainstream experience, which is far and away the best high-profile Hollywood comedy to come our way in sometime.

Directed by Horrible Bosses writing duo and Vacation director's John Francis Daley and Jonathan Goldstein, Game Night takes the one-time nerd only board game night to the big-time as we find ourselves a part of a games night with a difference as Jason Bateman and Rachel McAdam's game loving couple Max and Annie and their collection of friends find themselves trying to rescue Max's successful brother Brooks (played brilliantly against type by Kyle Chandler) from a real-life hostage situation.

It's a high concept central idea and one that works thanks to Daley and Goldstein's assured and often imaginatively constructed direction and the ability for the film to both not take itself too seriously or not playing to the lowest common denominators.

It feels like many moons since a comedy of this ilk wasn't filled with unnecessary profanities, sex jokes and loud-mouthed side characters but thankfully Game Night largely avoids these comedic pitfalls and just focuses itself on telling a genuinely good story with a large collection of jokes that work on their own merits.

It's great to see Daley and Goldstein advance from their Horrible Bosses writing breakthrough and the relative misfire of their updating of the Vacation series as Game Night is without question the most assuredly filmed Hollywood comedy in sometime.

David Fincher himself would be proud as the duo give the film a visual flair and pizazz not often found in such genre films, from the way in which they shoot some establishing shots like a real-life board game or an eye-popping keeping's off sequence in a glamorous house, Game Night is filled with visual gems that when combined with Drive and Neon Demon composer Cliff Martinez's score, create a memorable mood and setting.

Coinciding with Daley and Goldstein's wins is the work of the films cast. Jason Bateman is as Jason Batemany as you'd expect but surrounded by the likes of Rachel McAdams (who looks like she's never had this much fun) and a downright hilarious Jesse Plemon's as Max and Annie's super awkward and potentially serial-killer like neighbour Gary, the whole cast elevate each other's work to a level that makes you hope this isn't the last game night we will be spending with this colourful bunch.

Final Say -

Like any good games night, Daley and Goldstein's film provides a lot of fun, laughs and genuinely memorable times. Game Night is Hollywood comedy filmmaking done right and by avoiding the problems that have faced its recent cohorts (overlong running times, unnecessary vulgarity, annoying characters); Game Night becomes a highly recommendable night out at the movies.

4 Fabergé egg's out of 5

Very enjoyable comedy romp (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/21/2018 12:00:00 AM By: deonast
This was a very enjoyable comedy. Plenty of jokes hit their mark and the audience loved it from the laughter I heard in the session. To be upfront I some advanced session tickets from the Australian distributor, won in a competition. So we all saw it for free, but if I wanted to see a good comedy this one is worth paying to watch.

The humour is good, nothing too highbrow but you won't find any crass humour here, just good fun throughout the film.

The film does have its silly moments and the twists towards the end stretch believability, but you don't really care as you don't watch this film to critique, but just to enjoy the ride for a few hours. The characters are not deep, but you quickly grow to like them all or feel sorry for them as the film flows on.

Enjoyable, good clean fun with the odd bit of blood, that is even used to humourous effect.

More Entertaining Than The Average Board Game (IMDB: 7)

On: 2/19/2018 12:00:00 AM By: roblesar99
7/10

GAME NIGHT may not be a great film by any stretch of the imagination, but it's definitely a genuine blast and an entertaining ride from beginning to the very end (seriously, stay for the post-credits scene!) The rare major studio comedy that actually feels like a film, rather than a soulless exercise in assembly-line filmmaking, thanks to such creative choices like Cliff Martinez's thumping score and Barry Peterson's cinematography, which not only introduces new locations as if zooming in on a board game piece, but also sports a surprisingly well-executed long take. Lamorne Morris and Billy Magnussen are some of the obvious standouts among the film's enjoyable cast of characters, but Jesse Plemons is the true MVP, stealing every single one of his scenes with ease. The film isn't without its problems, with the convoluted third act jumping the shark almost to the point of parody, and not all of the jokes land (although most do thanks to the cast's great comedic timing), but nonetheless GAME NIGHT makes for a perfectly fun time at the movies.